How many times have the Reds won the NL Central?

The Cincinnati Reds won the National League Central Division in 1994.
Cincinnati Reds win the NL Central Division
Cincinnati Reds win the NL Central Division / Jamie Sabau/GettyImages

The Cincinnati Reds joined the National League Central upon its creation in 1994. Prior to that, the Reds were part of the National League West and won the division seven times.

The Reds were widely considered by many to be the best team of the 1970s. With Johnny Bench, Pete Rose, and Joe Morgan, the Big Red Machine ruled the NL West landscape for nearly a decade.

Things haven't been so good, however, since the Reds joined the NL Central. Cincinnati has won the division just three times since it's inception, but this year's team is looking to make another run a the division crown.

How many times have the Reds won the NL Central?

The first of the Reds three division title wins came back in 1995. On a team led by the likes of Barry Larkin, and Reggie Sanders, the Reds would finish the 1995 season with a 85-59 record and swept the Los Angeles Dodgers in NLDS. Unfortunately, Cincinnati would fall victim to the Atlanta Braves in the NLCS.

The Reds won the division 25 years later when Jay Bruce hit a walk-off home run that clinched the National League Central in what's commonly referred to as Clinchmas.

The third and most recent NL Central Division title came back in 2012 when the Cincinnati Reds, led by Joey Votto and Johnny Cueto, put together a record of 97-65. Most Reds fans though would just as soon forget that season after watching their beloved Redlegs fall to the San Francisco Giants in five games.

With the young talent helping to lead this team into the future, the CIncinnati Reds have a chacne to win the NL Central for a fourth time. Both the Chicago Cubs and Milwaukee Brewers will surely have something to say about it.

Top 5 SS in Reds history. Ranking the Top 5 hitting shortstops in Reds history. dark. Next