Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

BRM's Nominee BBA Connie Mack Award: Clint Hurdle

Clint Hurdle led Pirates to first winning season in 21 years.

As a member of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance, one of the requirements for membership is to vote in its postseason awards. Today, we will begin revealing who the BRM staff has nominated for the different individual awards. First off is the Connie Mack Award awarded to the NL’s top manager.

The vote wasn’t even close as the staff unanimously chose…

Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh Pirates

Prior to the 2013 season, the Pirates had made some noise within the National League Central over the past two seasons, only to see each season end on a down note. Those down notes were a second half collapses. That didn’t happen in 2013.

Twenty-one years of suffering to baseball fans in the Steel City came to an end this season as Hurdle guided the Pirates to a wild card berth and the home field for the wild card game. Hurdle’s team held the NL Central lead (either by itself or in a tie) until September 16th which was their 150th game of the season. The pirates record of 94-68 was the NL’s third best.

And depending on how much stock you put into Pythagorean W-L (an estimate of a team’s winning percentage given their runs scored and runs allowed), Hurdle’s work may have been smoke and mirrors. The Pirates Pythag says Pittsburgh could have been 88-74, a +6 differential.

Hurdle would then lead his Buccos past the Cincinnati Reds in the wild card game. Pittsburgh went on to battle the St. Louis Cardinals through a hotly contested five-game NLDS series, but came up short in Game 5.

Our voting for the top three:

1. Hurdle, PIT
2. Don Mattingly, LAD
3. Mike Matheny, STL

For those that voted in our poll, those results were as follows (and was included in the vote)
1. Hurdle
2. Fredi Gonzalez, ATL
T3. Matheny and Mattingly

comments powered by Disqus